I kind of want to get a cat and name it whiskey.

I would like this cat to be a milk chocolate brown color, with green eyes, black stripes and white paws.

or just milk chocolate brown.

Whiskey the cat  see, you want a milk chocolate brown cat named Whiskey too.
Bourbonwould also be suitable, but I like the sound of Whiskey better. I’d get a black cat to go with her, and name it Guinness, and a creamy colored mutt of a dog named baileys. together they would be a n Irish car bomb… love. I love future pets. If i can only get two of these three…that’s fine, I will just call them black and tan.

Yes, I’m quite sober.
yes I have drinks on the mind, it is St.Patricks Day, and I’m Irish. it also has been a really fun day, and the weather is making me giddy. I just and so in love with nights like this, perfect for shorts and long sleeve t-shirt, to hot for a sweatshirt. The sort of night I want to sleep outside for. I dream of nights like this all year winter long, and when they finally come I am so beside my self with glee that I can’t sleep. I just want to play.

some part of me awakens  in the spring time, and is exuberant in the summer. I get such great satisfaction of air around me being that which my body feels like it is at. I know I’m 97.6 most of the time…but when I’m not cold or hot, I feel like a perfect 75. Now its only 70 or 68 out, but it’s glorious.

Tonight was a great night, I got things done around the house this afternoon, set out to mail a package (which always makes me feel like I was productive with my day) and go shoe shopping, and while in line at the post office got asked to babysit. I agreed, and much to my delight we spent hours playing outside, Mack and Mimi were so cute playing and playing. I loved every minute of it. Then I raced home, changed and left again, to go to the BFA show- the graduating seniors art show. Lovely, just such a great batch of work this year. So proud of my fellow ceramics people. They did such a great job.

Then we headed back to the studio, to…um, celebrate, unwind wind, and act like we were going to make something. We did- we made the night, surrounded by people we loved, and the material that seems to flow through our artistic veins.

than I spent an hour or so walking around Chicago. I meant to catch up with my roommate at her coffee shop worship set, but when I got there I had just missed her. not sure why I thought walking over ten blocks would be quicker than waiting for the train…but it was just to lovely out to pass up the walk. and now, I’m sitting in the dark, writing this, listening to the night drift through my window with my cat at my side keeping me warm.

It would be a great day to fall in love.

I suspect some day I will. Fall in love in the late spring, rise through the summer, hunker down in the fall, survive and grow in the winter, and be made new again come spring. Than we will get married- in the rolling ripeness of late summer early fall.  having pulled through all that, we…I will know that it is meant to be forever, and we will get married. None of these dead birds shot down before their migration flight was finished and the seasons filtered through their wings…no, my past is littered enough with those. The could-be’s of greatness, killed off before they even got off the ground; the lost in the dark of never getting to the other side of this, the too good reality traded in and settled for lesser dreams, the mishaps of poor timing, attention not paid, and all due respects ignored.

He will not shrink away from my love and all the mysterious ways it asks one to arise to the occasion and step up and be the man I see. Nor will I be distrusting, frightened, and skirmish in his love, but calm, confident, collected- breathing free and settled in, arising to all that I am meant to be.

Tonight however, I am so incredibly content to just be me. I like my cat, I’m glad she is here, I like my houseplant, and I miss my dog- I need breathing things in my life, I need relationships, I do, but I am so incredibly content right now to be with just my pets and plants and the night air, drinking tea and dreaming.

Whiskey, the chocolate brown cat, is so inspiring…who knew.

~ by Courtney Coleman on March 17, 2012.

One Response to “I kind of want to get a cat and name it whiskey.”

  1. yes, I like cats. I just like dogs way more, and hate kitty litter. If my cat would go outside I would take her gladly, the same way I take my dog out. Dogs are way more instantly gratifying, they give so much more to the people they love, cats…are…well not nearly as involved. Either way, I want to get three pets, in these colors, and name them these names, and call them an Irish car bomb.

Leave a comment